Review: Oohhs and Aahhs

Before heading over to see Rough Magic, K. and I went to Oohhs and Aahhs for dinner. Good ol’ soul food with a nice little lunch counter. We shared the fried chicken wing dinner with mac and cheese and collard greens.

The wings are pre-fried, and then refried when you order them. The coating on the wings was nice and light, perhaps less salty and flavorful than I would have liked. I think I lean more strongly toward the flavors of Popeye’s fried chicken. The meat wasn’t too dry, and after eating a few more wings, they started to have the right level of saltyness.

The collard greens were vinegary, and lacked the brackish flavor I tend to find with collards. I liked them better than the ones cooked with meat(!!). The mac and cheese was good, but somewhat mushy. I think it lacked the sharper cheese flavor that I was wanting. They also were slightly runny. Nonetheless I still found them tasty.

Both the lemonade and iced tea are extraordinarily sweet. The portions here are enormous. It was a good thing that K. and I shared. Although there was still a good quantity of mac and cheese leftover when we were done.

K. and I found ourselves out of place – a bunch of wanna-be yuppies in a soul food joint. But we were outdone by a girl who ordered baked chicken without gravy and attempted to get a diet soda. Obviously she was on a diet. But who goes to a soul food joint and doesn’t order gravy. <shakes head>

Oohhs & Aahhs in Washington

One response to “Review: Oohhs and Aahhs

  1. I ate at oohs and aahs at four in the morning in February after clubbing and thoroughly enjoyed my grilled shrimp, eggs and grits combo, although, as you said, it was huge, and they wouldnt let me order a la carte, so I ended up with a platter of food that I could not finish. The grilled shrimp were spicy and slightly blackened on the outside and scrumptious. The grits were not very warm and a bit lumpy, though the flavour was good. Great scrambled eggs. My friend had the fried chicken and was loving it. Definitely a place to split food. Huge portions over there.

Leave a Reply

